Manual tranny help for my swap

All discussions about V8 Rangers

Moderator: MalcolmV8

bbbob
SM: No

Manual tranny help for my swap

Post by bbbob »

Ok I'm new to this Ford thing.I have always been a die hard Chevy fan. I built a 92 s-10 with tbi 350 and 700r4 AND IT WAS FUN. I Loved it but had to let her go due to a drunk driver :cry: :cry: .
But I just found a rock solid 1988 Ranger 2.? 4 cyl. with blown motor. The guy will sell it to me for $300.So Im guna buy it and put in a EFI 302 and a manual tranny. Me being a former Chevy guy I dont know jack about Ford tranny's. None of the local junk yards have a Mustang t-5 are there any others I can fit into the ranger?

P.s. Goal here is a stock looking sleeper. Not a 500hp monster that will make my wife cry just something loud and street able.
May the fleas of a thousand camels infest the crotch of the person who screws your day and may their arms be too short to scratch.......
cgrey8
Supporting Member
SM: No

Re: Manual tranny help for my swap

Post by cgrey8 »

There probably is. C4 and AOD are the trannys of choice if you are willing to consider automatics. However if you want to stay with a manual tranny, the T5 is the preferred tranny just because it is well known. There is an F150 manual that will probably bolt to a 302, but I can't remember the name of the tranny. If I remember right, it's a Mazda tranny like the Ranger manual trannys. AND like the Ranger tannys, they aren't known for being very strong either. They can obviously handle a stock F150 302. But if you build a 302 with much more than stock, you'll be pushing its abilities and wishing you had a stronger T5.